Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Find dB an acoustic guitar!

Find dB an acoustic guitar!

Okay so now the time is right for me to take the leap and buy an acoustic guitar. Perhaps someone here could throw out some suggestions.

As I said on another thread, my time in Germany forced me to play an almost unplayable Tenson dreadnought for a couple weeks and despite my intense dislike for the guitar, I can clearly see that I'd like a decent acoustic in the house. Now the question is what.

I am an archtop guy with my electrics but I am not certain that an acoustic archtop would have adequate sound output like a dreadnought, but I have little experience with acoustics. The guitar could be new or used but I'd like to keep it under $2500.

Here's what I know I want:
    Well made but not necessarily with fancy inlays- I don't really put a value on things that don't improve playability or sound.
    Non-cutaway and large body
    Big and loud sound, but not too bright and twangy

One thing to bear in mind is the climate in NJ- in Summer the humidity is very high, almost tropical, but in the winter the humidity is often near 0%. This could be a concern over the long term with the top cracking. My current archtops are all laminated bodies.

What suggestions do you guys have?

dB

Keep in mind that in the Big Band era, guitarists used archtops that were high in the mid-range and high end, to be heard in the band. But in your situation, you might want a bassier sound with all the horns you have playing. You can get Baritone acoustics, which would provide much more of the bass you may need.
    Ya can't pick up a turd by the clean end

hmmm a baritone acoustic? I have never even heard of that!

Would this be a guitar that you'd play out, or is it a stay at home instrument? Seems to me that what gets recommended might be different depending on what you're going to use it for.
    "I know just enough to be dangerous....."