Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: Pignose G40V

  1. #21
    Axe-honerated zontar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    In a people house
    Posts
    24,620
    Quote Originally Posted by die Bullen View Post
    Sure I could plug it into another cab a today but I think I can safely say that the low end of the amp is not great. It is intended to be an emergency amp anyway.
    I was referring to the comment about switching the speaker but he realized you were referring to a head, not a cab or combo.
    So go with that--switching the speaker on a head...
    I've been a pilgrim on this earth, since the day of my birth, I'm a long way from my home.

  2. #22
    Super Moderator die Bullen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westfield, NJ
    Age
    47
    Posts
    24,510
    Well it is acting like a head. It is installed into a combo amp box (temporarily) but the combo doesn't have a speaker, baffle, etc.

  3. #23
    Axe-honerated zontar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    In a people house
    Posts
    24,620
    I see.
    I have the speaker & the box from an amp I go for a couple of bucks when a store went out of business--no electronics--juts a speaker in plywood with the grill--I don' know if the speaker is any good--but it was a couple of bucks & if I ever buy just a head I will get the wires & jack to attach to the speaker & try it out.
    If the speaker isn't any good I'll replace it.
    Still comes out cheaper than buying a cab...
    I've been a pilgrim on this earth, since the day of my birth, I'm a long way from my home.

  4. #24
    Super Moderator die Bullen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westfield, NJ
    Age
    47
    Posts
    24,510
    The cab was basically free. I would load a speaker into it but I don't have a spare 12" speaker lying around

  5. #25
    Axe-honerated zontar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    In a people house
    Posts
    24,620
    Quote Originally Posted by die Bullen View Post
    The cab was basically free. I would load a speaker into it but I don't have a spare 12" speaker lying around
    Cool--free can be good--a couple of bucks is almost free, but free is better...
    Unless the speaker is in good shape.
    It's unbranded--so I have no idea other than it is 8 ohms.
    I've been a pilgrim on this earth, since the day of my birth, I'm a long way from my home.

  6. #26
    Super Moderator die Bullen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westfield, NJ
    Age
    47
    Posts
    24,510
    I need to tinker with the cab I have at some point...

  7. #27
    Axe-honerated zontar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    In a people house
    Posts
    24,620
    Quote Originally Posted by die Bullen View Post
    I need to tinker with the cab I have at some point...
    Does it have a speaker? Or is it just the cab?
    I've been a pilgrim on this earth, since the day of my birth, I'm a long way from my home.

  8. #28
    Super Moderator die Bullen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westfield, NJ
    Age
    47
    Posts
    24,510
    Just the cab with the head installed. I have to see what I do with it because the cab itself is only 12" wide so I don't think a 12" speaker will fit it. So either I leave it as is, put a 10" speaker in or I cut the cab to make it a head box.

  9. #29
    Axetastic doublewah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Age
    57
    Posts
    4,241
    Some bass amps and cabs have 2x10s. If the head is lacking bottom end, try to get a 10" speaker that would go into a bass amp.
    I bought a relic'd guitar because I liked the way it sounded. Then I refinished it because I didn't like the way it looked.

  10. #30
    Super Moderator die Bullen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westfield, NJ
    Age
    47
    Posts
    24,510
    I thought about that too- it might be worth it. Although the real solution probably lies in changing a cap or 2 to mod the voicing. Of course with an amp like this I doubt invasive surgery is really worth it because I wouldn't be comfortable doing it myself.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •