Thread: Are Expensive Amps Really "Better"?

Are Expensive Amps Really "Better"?

Are Expensive Amps Really "Better"?
    Well?

Check out the article & share your thoughts...
    I've been a pilgrim on this earth, since the day of my birth, I'm a long way from my home.

I find these expensive amps mess with my thinking, and giving me an assumption that expensive = better. But then again, I have no experience on high-end boutique ones, only played through mass produced Vox and Fenders..

There's probably a case for better amps in some respects.....Things like panel mounted jacks instead of made-to-self-destruct jacks soldered to printed circuit baords are one good reason to move up into a high-end product.

I'm not sure that expensive amps necessarily sound a lot better......maybe small things, but in the real world, will anybody at a gig really hear that much difference? I think that if you opt for an expensive amp, it's got to be about how you feel about it - You're the only one that'll really appreciate it.

I sold audio gear for many years, and found that electronics follows a pattern.....There's a law of diminishing returns. You have to spend a great deal more for small improvements.
    "I know just enough to be dangerous....."

Quote Originally Posted by spellcaster View Post
    There's probably a case for better amps in some respects.....Things like panel mounted jacks instead of made-to-self-destruct jacks soldered to printed circuit baords are one good reason to move up into a high-end product.

I'm not sure that expensive amps necessarily sound a lot better......maybe small things, but in the real world, will anybody at a gig really hear that much difference? I think that if you opt for an expensive amp, it's got to be about how you feel about it - You're the only one that'll really appreciate it.