Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Band woes

Band woes

I've been rehearsing with a band-in-the-making for a couple of months now and really enjoying playing again.

On Thursday (our normal practice day), I got a call from the rhythm player, the one who invited me into the band initially and who organized the practice events. He told me that the drummer (who owns the PA and the rehearsal space) had pulled the pin on the band. I knew the drummer had some concerns, but wasn't expecting anything radical to happen.

I feel somewhat put off by what's happened.....I recently bought a new speaker cabinet and another bass, plus just purchased a new bass amp which I haven't even had a chance to use yet.

This whole thing has really soured me on the band thing. As a matter of fact, it left me with enough of a bad taste about music that I've stayed out of guitar forums for several days. I know stuff can happen, but I'm now questioning whether I should just sell my gear and say no more bands.
    "I know just enough to be dangerous....."

Well I certainly don't think it is time to chuck it all with music because a drummer pulled out.

Can't the rest of the band just continue and find a different drummer? The fact that he had a PA shouldn't be such a big deal, I'm sure you could make do with something else unless you are already gigging actively.

Quote Originally Posted by die Bullen View Post
    ..............Can't the rest of the band just continue and find a different drummer? The fact that he had a PA shouldn't be such a big deal, I'm sure you could make do with something else unless you are already gigging actively.
    It might or might not be a big deal to find another drummer. We've never had to look for one. It's been my experience over the years that there's generally one slot in a band that's tough to fill. When I was young, it was bass players. Later, it was competent lead players. Now, who knows?