Thread: Affordable LP copy upgrades

Neophyte

Affordable LP copy upgrades

Hello! I'm new to this forum but I've been playing guitar for 38 years. I have a Les Paul style guitar, not an actual Gibson or Epiphone. It's a fairly nice axe. I'm curious if anyone has insight on where I can get some affordable and good quality upgrade products. Since it's not an actual Les Paul I don't want to throw a lot of money into it. If anyone has info please provide links and as much info as possible. Thank you in advance!

Here's what I'd like to change.

1. Current tuners are vintage style green keys but I would prefer more modern tuners in Chrome that hold tune very well.

2. Current pickups are the usual enclosed humbuckers with plastic trim around them. They are very muddy so it's hard to get much high tones out of them. I'd like some with a brighter sound but not too thin.

3. The nut is cheap plastic. I prefer something graphite or made of tusk.

Thank you again for any ideas you can offer!

Matt

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

Hi Dahmort, welcome to the forum. My suggestion on the pickups would be to consider changing them to humbucker-sized P90's. If you're looking for something brighter, a change to single coils is a good way to go. P90's tend to be a bit meatier than conventional Fender-style single coils. There's quite a range of them, price-wise, all the way from the low dollar Chinese models right up through the Gibson models. A look on eBay would probably yield something you'd like that'll fit your budget.

https://www.ebay.ca/sch/i.html?_from...+size&_sacat=0

As far as tuners, I prefer Sperzel lockers. Grovers also seem to be a popular choice with Gibson style instruments.

I've never used a graphite nut, so can't offer any suggestions. I've used Tusk nuts a couple of times and they seem to be fine, and not overly expensive.
    "I know just enough to be dangerous....."

Neophyte
    Thank you very much!