Thread: Soldering equipment

Soldering equipment

I'm having soldering iron issues. For many years, as a car audio installer, I used Weller 8200 soldering guns and they were great. I think I only went through three of them in four decades, which was excellent service considering that they were used heavily in commercial duty. I used the last one to build my first four guitars. When it began to fail, I decided it would make more sense to get a smaller less clumsy soldering station for the work I was doing.

I bought a Weller WLC100. It's had limited use (built 9 guitars) but finally gave up the ghost a few days ago. I finished the work I was doing with a nasty 30 watt Canadian Tire soldering pencil, but it's not a good long-term solution. I guess I'll need to buy a new one, which is crazy, since I don't see well enough to do much more building, but I need to have one on hand. Any suggestions on what to buy?

I always thought Wellers were the cream of the crop. When I managed an audio store in the 70's, all five techs owned the old-style light blue Wellers that were about 200.00 each. I suspect that in modern dollars, they're well beyond my budget and probably overkill, but I want something better than the crappy Canadian Tire stuff. Is there a middle ground price and quality-wise that will do what I need?
    "I know just enough to be dangerous....."

I just use this at home. Use the high end Hakko and Weller at work but the cheap on is great for working on guitars. https://www.amazon.com/Weller-WLC100...dering+station
    I don't play guitar because I'm good at it, I play because it's fun!!

Axellent Member