Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Painting Pickups?

Painting Pickups?

Just curious to hear your thoughts. Basically, on my Stagemaster, I have two black humbuckers that I will eventually replace with white humbuckers. Until then, I really do like the tone the stock pickups give me and I'd like paint them.

I was planning to take the poles out of the pickup, and spray just the top plastic cover with Krylon Fusion for Plastic paint. Anything reason I shouldn't do this? I've read mixed opinions, and I've seen that as long as the paint is non ferrous, it shouldn't effect the magnets.

Also, would I effect the pickups if I left the poles in and painted them?

There isn't a ton of info out there on this, but I'm leaning towards it. There just stock pickups that will eventually be replaced, I just don't have the disposable income for pickups right now!

Thoughts?

I am not an expert but I'd be leery of this. Can't you just get a different coloured pickup cover?

Quote Originally Posted by die Bullen View Post
    I am not an expert but I'd be leery of this. Can't you just get a different coloured pickup cover?
    I thought someone might say that 😉. I looked for covers, hard to find for a 7 string. I bought bobbin topper stickers from UniversalJems and they work, but looks kind of cheap and will definitely come off.

Whenever I've asked about painting plastics....pickup covers or pickguards....the response has been fairly negative. Most people seem to think it'll chip fairly easily. I think, if you're going to do it, Krylon is probably a good choice of paint, and I'd recommend a clearcoat on top of it. Good luck.
    "I know just enough to be dangerous....."

Somewhere online I've seen some different stickers that go on the top of the bobbins to change the colour--they're the type you can take off easily--so they don't use anything sticky or gummy...
    just search for Bobbin Toppers.