Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Computer question

  1. #1
    Axe-honerated spellcaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Duncan, British
    Age
    68
    Posts
    13,324

    Computer question

    I was in the middle of responding in another thread but it appears I ve done something wrong to the computer. When I try to use a question mark it prints . When I try to use an apostrophe, it prints as well. I m assuming there must be a shift function I ve activated but I have no idea what to do now. Help!
    "I know just enough to be dangerous....."

  2. #2
    Axe-honerated spellcaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Duncan, British
    Age
    68
    Posts
    13,324
    Note: This only happens when I m in a forum, but not on email. It also seems to be preventing me from using the edit function.
    "I know just enough to be dangerous....."

  3. #3
    Axellent Member French Army Knife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    OverYonderRidge
    Posts
    278
    You've probably pressed shift for too long. I was there but can't remember how to make it good again - maybe press down shift for a second, long time?

  4. #4
    Axellent Member French Army Knife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    OverYonderRidge
    Posts
    278
    Quote Originally Posted by spellcaster View Post
    Note: This only happens when I m in a forum, but not on email. It also seems to be preventing me from using the edit function.
    Editing programs (email, Word,..) override what you've set in 'general' windows.

  5. #5
    Axe-honerated spellcaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Duncan, British
    Age
    68
    Posts
    13,324
    I guess I panicked too quickly. I did a disc clean, a defrag, and ran Malwarebytes and it seems to have solved itself. Thanks, FAK.
    "I know just enough to be dangerous....."

  6. #6
    Axe-honerated spellcaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Duncan, British
    Age
    68
    Posts
    13,324
    It's amazing what you'll do when you're bored late on a Friday night.......

    I got curious about the accented-e problem I had earlier and found an article that explains how to do all the various accents when you do want to do them. I'm not convinced that was related to my problem, because I was getting that accented e when I pushed weirdly assorted keys....for example, pressing < or ' would produce an accented e, which shouldn't happen. Anyway, for anybody that's interested in knowing the correct method to do a grave accent, an acute accent, a circumflex accent, a tilde accent, or an umlaut accent, here's how:
    https://www.wikihow.com/Put-Accents-on-Letters
    "I know just enough to be dangerous....."

  7. #7
    Super Moderator die Bullen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westfield, NJ
    Age
    49
    Posts
    25,539
    Interesting... At least it cleared itself up

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •